Purchase Now

Program Notes

Heartland is a piece for concert band based on the orchestra work of mine, Jadis, about the American heartland.  With a Copland-esque feel, it is comprised of three parts – an opening section focused on splendor and magnificence of the pastoral countryside, the middle portion featuring rhythmic energy that conveys the vitality of the cities, and the ending segment that underscores the kindheartedness and determination of the people.

Performance by the Overton High School (TN) Symphonic Band.


Flute 1 & 2
Oboe 1 & 2
Bassoon 1 & 2
Bb Clarinet 1, 2, 3
Bb Bass Clarinet
Eb Alto Saxophone 1 & 2
Bb Tenor Saxophone
Eb Baritone Saxophone
Bb Trumpet 1, 2, 3
F Horn 1, 2, 3, 4
Trombone 1, 2, 3
String Bass

Percussion 1:
Bells, Suspended Cymbal, Crotales (or bells), Vibraphone (share w/Perc. 2), Woodblock


Percussion 2:
Vibraphone (share w/Perc. 1), Xylophone


Percussion 3:
Timpani, Marimba


Percussion 4:
Snare Drum, Triangle


Percussion 5:
Bass Drum, Crash Cymbals, Finger Cymbals

Share a link to this piece

Music Catalogs

  • Concert Band

Other pieces by Jay Kennedy