Program Notes


The American heartland has long been inspiration for music, art, and photography.  Jadis is a musical homage to that wonderful portion of the United States.  The piece extracts passages from what originally was a music score for a foreign film about the American heartland.  The film focused on the beauty of the vast farmlands and rural landscapes, the vibrancy of urban development, and the warmth and resolve of the people of the heartland over the first half of the 20th century.

The producers requested music with an Americana sound and, in creating their storyboard for the film, had temped in portions of Copland’s Appalachian Spring and Rodeo to demonstrate to possible funders how the film would look and sound in its final state.  Thus, Jadis contains those musical qualities.  Unfortunately, the film never secured funding to be produced, so what remains is this musical excerpt of the original score.

Jadis (shja-deece) is a French word meaning long ago or once.  It was selected to reflect the subject of the film and because of its romantic quality, another characteristic of that part of the U.S.

The piece is about the American heartland in the first half of the 20th century and comprised of three parts – an opening section focused on splendor and magnificence of the pastoral countryside, the middle portion featuring rhythmic energy that conveys the vitality of the cities, and the ending segment that underscores the kindheartedness and determination of the people.

Performance by the L.A. Studio Orchestra. 


Flute 1 & 2 (Flute 2 doubles on Piccolo)
Oboe 1 & 2
Bb Clarinet 1 & 2
Bassoon 1 & 2
Bb Trumpet 1, 2, 3
Horn in F 1, 2, 3, 4
Trombone 1, 2, 3

5 Percussion:




Percussion 1:
Bells, Crotales, Suspended Cymbal, Wood Block


Percussion 2: Xylophone


Percussion 3: Snare Drum


Percussion 4: Bass Drum, Triangle, Crash Cymbals, Finger Cymbal

Share a link to this piece

Music Catalogs

  • Concert Orchestra

Other pieces by Jay Kennedy