Purchase Now

Program Notes

The Path Between the Mountains was composed more from an emotional basis and was not intended to be programmatic in quality.  While images of specific locations may come to mind, it is unintentional.  The impetus of piece stems from remembering the emotions I felt and the sense of great awe in experiencing many landscapes in the United States for the first time when moving from Chicago to Los Angeles.  Initially, there were the emotions of separating from what was in Chicago – leaving family and friends – to what I hoped would be in Los Angeles.

The five-day journey gave way to other emotional experiences – driving through a Nebraskan thunderstorm into Colorado and seeing the Rocky Mountains gradually appear in the distance and grow larger as I neared them, watching the sun set behind the mountains from a street somewhere near Denver, winding through the Rocky Mountains and across the deserts of New Mexico, and seeing the majestic quality of the Grand Canyon.  In retrospect, the piece could probably also be viewed as a metaphorical comment on my life at the time of the trip, but I prefer not to think that deeply about it.

Performance by the University of Massachusetts-Amherst Symphonic Band. 


Flute 1 & 2
Oboe 1 & 2
Bassoon 1 & 2
Bb Clarinet 1, 2, 3
Bb Bass Clarinet
Eb Alto Saxophone 1 & 2
Bb Tenor Saxophone
Eb Baritone Saxophone
Bb Trumpet 1, 2, 3
F Horn 1, 2, 3, 4
Trombone 1, 2, 3

6 Percussion:






Percussion 1:
Crotales (or Bells), Marimba, Small Triangle, Snare Drum



Percussion 2:
Mark Tree (or Bell Tree), Bells, Xylophone, Tambourine, 4 Tom toms (can use Perc. 5’s)



Percussion 3:
Vibraphone, Crash Cymbals, Suspended Cymbal, Wood Block



Percussion 4:
4 Tom toms, Bass Drum, 3 Suspended Cymbals, Wood Block, Snare Drum, Crash Cymbals



Percussion 5:
4 Tom toms, Bass Drum, Small Triangle, Tam-tam, Small Bongo, Snare Drum

Share a link to this piece

Music Catalogs

  • Concert Band

Other pieces by Jay Kennedy